Program Leadership


Dr. Aaronson

Dr. Robert Aaronson – THMEP Executive Director/ DIO

Dr. Aaronson is a clinical professor of medicine at the University of Arizona. He received his B.A. summa cum laude in English literature from Columbia University and obtained his medical degree from New York University. He completed his internal medicine residency at UC-San Francisco and did his Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship at Boston University. He is the director for medical education at Tucson Medical Center and an associate program director for the University of Arizona Internal Medicine Residency Program. He is board-certified in internal medicine, pulmonary medicine, critical care medicine, sleep medicine and neurocritical care medicine.



david-teeple-medDr. David Teeple – Transitional Residency Program Director

Dr. Teeple is a Tucson native earning his undergraduate degree from the University of Arizona in biochemistry. He attended medical school at Columbia University College of Physician and Surgeons, and subsequently completed his neurology residency and a fellowship in epilepsy at the Barrow Neurological Institute. Dr. Teeple is on faculty at the University of Arizona Department of Neurology and has been the director of the THMEP Transitional Year Program since 2013.



Dr. Patricia Eck – Pediatric Residency Program Director

Dr. Patricia J. Eck is a Tucson native and an Arizona State University graduate who received her medical degree from Midwestern University and completed a pediatric residency at the University of Arizona. She has worked for El Rio Community Health Center as well as TMC for Children’s Pediatric Emergency Department.



Dr. Amram Dahukey – Podiatry Residency Program Director

Dr. Amram Dahukey is the founder and chairman of Premier Foot & Ankle Surgeons. He was born in Jerusalem, Israel. After completing his military service in Israel he attended Boston University and Hebrew College of Boston and received his BA and BJEd Degree. He received his DPM degree from the Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine and completed his post-graduate training at the VA Medical Center in Tucson. He later attended many post-graduate courses and received certification in laser surgery, ankle arthroscopy and endoscopic surgery.

Dr. Dahukey is board-certified by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery in Foot and Ankle surgery. He is a fellow of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons and a past fellow of the American Society of Laser Medicine and Surgery. Dr Dahukey is the section chief of podiatric surgery at TMC and is the director of the residency program in podiatric medicine and surgery for Tucson Medical Center and the Midwestern University School of Podiatric Medicine.

Dr. Dahukey is past president of the Arizona Podiatric Medical Association. He is the past chairman of the section of podiatric surgery at St. Mary’s Hospital. Dr. Dahukey has been in private practice in Southern Arizona since 1981.

Eric Bergstrom – Pharmacy Residency Program Director

Eric Bergstrom, PharmD, graduated from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy in 1993. He was the first to implement and complete the PGY1 residency at Tucson Medical Center (TMC) from 1993-94 and has worked in all clinical areas of the hospital. He has been awarded Preceptor of the Year from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy multiple times. In 2017, he received the Danny and Rae Jacob Award from the UA College of Pharmacy. He is the TMC Pharmacy Residency Program Director, as well as the Pharmacy Manager of Clinical and Educational services.  He is involved in the clinical and community teaching certificate program at TMC. He also manages pharmacy students from multiple colleges, and coordinates nursing and community education and outreach programs.